Letter from August 13th (week 4)

You asked in a letter if I was happy to be here.  I definitely am. It is a blast. I am learning so much and growing so much as a person in ways I thought I never could. I wish I would have been able to make some of the changes I have made in here before I was here. It kind of makes me wonder what I have been missing out on.

One of our teachers was out of town this week so we had a substitute named Brother Rogers. I think he is literally the happiest person on earth. He always has a genuine smile and you think I am joking when I say always but I am not. He taught us happy birthday in Portuguese just because he thought we were tired. Anyway we were teaching him (he was role playing an investigator in a small room with just us three) and the fire alarm went off.  Me and my companion didn’t really know what to do.  We just looked at each other then at him, and he said with a smile on his face, “Descupe Elders, minha casa á em fogo. Precisamos sair” Which means: “Sorry elders, my house is on fire. We need to leave.” I don’t know why but this was really funny. But when I typed it out it kind of sounds dumb. Your sense of humor definitely changes on your mission.  Some things that were never funny before are hilarious now. I think it’s just another way God helps his missionaries.

We taught another lesson yesterday that I thought was our best yet.  Our investigator was hesitant to pray in the previous lesson but he did and we invited him to be baptized but he said no. In the lesson yesterday we taught him about the restoration and everything was clicking.  Me and my companion were switching off so well and just saying all the right things and asking the right questions.  It was awesome.  At the end of the lesson we invited him, for a second time, to be baptized, and he said yes.  We were so excited it was an amazing experience and I felt the spirit throughout the whole lesson. I know that this is role play but if I am this happy with a baptism commitment that’s just for a role playing investigator I cant even imagine how much joy I’ll have when it is for real.  I am just super excited to leave the MTC and start teaching for real.  I am going to miss it here but I am excited to leave.

We have been learning a lot about following spiritual impressions during the past week, and I have learned a ton. I started to apply what I had learned, especially with my personal study, and the changes have been incredible.  My personal study used to be a time when I just struggled to stay awake for, but now it is what I look forward to the most. 

I just had a cool conversation with two Elder’s who are going to Provo for their mission.  They are both native Spanish speakers and are here learning English. We talked about where we where serving and how difficult English is to learn, I also told them I worked with two guys from El Salvador this summer.  It was cool. I tried to use what Spanish I remembered which wasn’t much. Because Spanish and Portuguese are so similar, and I didn’t know a lot of Spanish before, my Portuguese kind of took over all my Spanish. However, if you know Spanish you can understand Portuguese – at least that’s they said. So we spoke both Spanish and Portuguese as well as some English. It was a really unique experience.  They were super excited about serving, and it was cool to see even if we couldn’t really communicate it.

Sincerely,

Elder Lawrence

Leave a Reply

