April 28, 2014 (week 41)

Paranapiacaba

Paranapiacaba

 

The fog rolling in Paranapiacaba

The fog rolling in Paranapiacaba

 

Elder Arévalo and  I

Elder Arévalo and I

 

Elder Madeux and I with Vinicius at his baptism

Elder Madeux and I with Vinicius at his baptism

 

So this last P-day we went to Paranapiacaba. It is this old tourist town. We went on a walk there. We went with a guide but we didn’t have a ton of time. The town had a really creepy vibe. It was a super old town and had an abondoned train station there. There was also a really old Catholic church that looked like it hadn’t been used in over a hundred years. Then a bunch of fog rolled in and it looked like a town from a horror film. All in all it was pretty cool.

Well Vinicius got baptised this Sunday. Wow, was he prepared. He really wants to serve a mission. It would be really cool to see him go on a mission. He was incredibly easy to teach. I am not sure I will ever find someone as prepared as he is in my mission. He is a pretty awesome dude.

Elder Arévalo is leaving this week. He is actually one of my favorite missionaries in the mission. He was an Assistant for about 8 months of the mission. I had the oppurtunity of living with him and working with him a few days. He is an excellent missionary. I learned a ton from him. The mission is full of a lot of hellos and goodbyes, missionaries, converts, members – you gain a lot of good friendships on the mission, but it’s also hard to say goodbye because with a lot of these people it will be the last time I see them.

Oh, my first companion here, my trainer Elder Myers, was made the new Assistent last transfer. He will have to train in the new President when he gets here. Elder Anderson form the quorom of the 12 is going to visit the mission too.

Love
Elder Lawrence

Leave a Reply

