January 12, 2015 (week 78)

I gave a talk in church this last Sunday. I was the last speaker. I talked about the story of Peter when Christ was resurrected and visited them while they were fishing. I focused on the small “interview” Peter had with Christ, I concentrated mostly on the first question, “Lovest thou me more than these?” Peter,not that long ago, was walking side by side with Christ ministering to the people, but when Christ died he returned to the life he lived before he knew Christ, a fishermen. I find the question very profound, “Lovest thou me more than these?” Sometimes we find ourselves in the same place as Peter. We pass through amazing experiences then return to what we were. Christ could ask us the same thing, “Lovest thou me more than these?” Although he likely won’t point to fish when talking to us but rather to another thing: video games, TV, a basketball, or whatever it may be. Christ gave Peter a gentle reminder as to what he should have been in his response, “Feed my sheep.” We must respond as Peter did after this and work without stopping and continue in progression.

We had transfers this week and I got a new companion. His name is Elder Frietas, and he is from Mossoró, which is actually whithin the limits of Madison´s mission. He has the same time on the mission as me, and we get a long very well. He looks a lot like uncle Brian, so I´ll have to send you guys a picture. It´s a little scary sometimes.

I am feeling a little sick today but it is completely my falt. We didn’t have hardly any food in the house but I found a frozen chicken steak in the freezer. It must have been there for a long time because it tasted awful and I´m not feeling too well now. I made a rule now that if the food has been in the house longer than you have, don´t eat it.

I asked president in an email the date I would be getting back, so you can plan the vacations with a little more assurance of who will be there. He should respond by nest week. He has been extending the missions of a few elders and I heard that mine was extended although I am not sure. If it were extended I would get back at the beginning of August. If not, I would get back in mid June.

Love
Elder Lawrence

Leave a Reply

