March 2, 2015 (week 85)

Elder Myers - my first comp in Brazil on his last day on the mission

Elder Myers – my first comp in Brazil on his last day on the mission

 

Elder Morales and Elder Gauldin- we lived together in Alverenga

Elder Morales and Elder Gauldin- we lived together in Alverenga

 

District in Alverenga

District in Alverenga

 

Zone in Alverenga

Zone in Alverenga

 

Me and my old comp Elder Frietas

Me and my old comp Elder Frietas

 

us two and elder dacio, i lived with him in maua

Me, Elder Frietas and Elder Dacio, I lived with him in Maua

Tayla, from the family in my last area got baptised yesterday, so now only the dad is left but I think in a little bit he will be baptised too.

Well, Madison is going home tomorrow I think. It´s a little strange to think about because when I left she was at home and when I get home she will be there too, but she will have served a mission for a year and a half.

We had a lot of success this week. We are working really well with the members in the ward which I think will be crucial in this area. We brought a family of four to the church and the members testimony was essential for them coming to church. They liked the church a lot and said they would come back next Sunday.

We are finding a lot of new people to teach here is a really exciting, and these people have sincere interest in the church.

We fasted yesterday for more success in the area. It has been about 7 months sense there has been a baptism in the area, but we are hoping to change that.

We talked to a girl who came to church today. She comes with her friend and has gone to church for a long time – I think she said 6 years. She said she wasn’t yet baptised but wanted to be so we marked a lesson with her this week. We are both really excited for this week.

I was thinking recently about something my last companion said to me. We were talking about an investigator and he mentioned something that is really true. When sometimes we feel doubts about a certain thing, it is not because we don’t believe it is true, but because sometimes we don’t want it to be true. It goes back to what the prophet said, “Many are not trying to abandon sin and become comfortable in God, but are abondoning God and becoming comfortable in sin.” It is certainly easier to be comfortable when we don’t believe. We must be willing to accept the truth as it is, regardless of what it will require of us. Often times difficult, but always worth it.

Love
Elder Lawrence

Leave a Reply

